top of page

What is "staging" in French?

Another key element of a music video shoot, or any other type of shoot, is the mise en scène, or the staging, in English. This can be split down into four categories: setting, lighting, costume and staging.

To access the setting post, click here.

LIGHTING

For this shoot, all of my lighting will be natural, due to the storyline and ideas I already had. Depending on the area used, the actual lighting will either be high-key or three-point, in order to convey the idea of authenticity to the audience, and to show that the video is truly just a "day-in-the-life" style affair.

COSTUME

As the music video is being shot mainly at school, with a couple of scenes shot at my Air Cadets squadron, costume will be mainly smart casual, with the costume at Cadets being a mix between sports and what's known as "greens" (or No. 3 DPM/MTP, as the more technical term for it).

STAGING

As I am hoping to make this music video shoot as authentic as possible, I have no real set area for my actors to be, meaning there is no need for ideas of blocking as there isn't a lot of hierarchical ideology for the people I'd be filming with, apart from at Cadets. Even there, however, blocking would not be of any use, due to the fact that it wouldn't be as authentic as I would hope for in this music video, having higher ranks off to one side and lower ranks off to the other.


Featured Update
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page